Skip to content

The Slovenian Writing System

The Slovenian writing system is based on the Latin alphabet with a total of 25 letters. The q, w, x and y characters, as well as the Slavic ć, dž, đ, lj, and nj characters, are excluded from the Slovenian alphabet, but can show up in foreign proper names.

A written form of Slovenian was almost non-existent until, according the Encyclopædia Britannica, the Reformation, at which time Protestants began to translate sacred texts and write religious tracts in Slovene. The entire Bible was translated into Slovenian at the end of the 18th Century and several grammars of the language were published in the early 19th Century. “By the middle of the 19th century, a standard written language was in use.”1

Slovenian is now regulated by the Slovenian Academy of Arts and Sciences, which is the standard bearer for Slovenian grammar, as well as its writing system.

Additional resources on the Slovenian writing system can be found on the Web at:

For information on The Slovenian Language, please see our Quick Facts Library.

1 “Slovene language” Encyclopædia Britannica from Encyclopædia Britannica Premium Service.

[Accessed December 10, 2004]